Top Left Logo
Our Accountabilities Healthy People, Healthy Communities
Skip Navigation Links
For Health Professionals
Contact Us

Spacer Spacer Spacer Spacer
Index      Small Text Medium Text Large Text  

Complying with Regulations

Complying with Regulations

At Eastern Health, we promote and expect our staff to follow best practices and regulations to keep our patients/ clients/ residents and staff safe. We have many regulations in place to make sure that the people that we serve and our staff have an area that they are able to walk into, be treated in, work in and know that they are being taken care of.

WHMIS is a communication system that provides information on the safe use of hazardous materials (controlled products) in workplaces across North America.  It is the employee’s RIGHT to receive information about the potential risks of controlled products used in the workplace. Suppliers, employers, and employees all have legislated responsibilities with respect to this system. These responsibilities are outlined in Eastern Health’s Generic WHMIS Training.

All Eastern Health Employees must renew this training once every three years. Managers must review any area-specific controlled products with their staff on an annual basis, and provide any updated information as it becomes available.

An online resource to easily find Materials Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) on products that you use or come into contact with in the workplace. 

Occupational Health and Safety

Eastern Health is committed to providing and maintaining a healthy and safe workplace for our workers and other persons at or near the workplace (e.g. residents, patients, clients, students, volunteers, visitors, general public, outside contractors and service providers). Eastern Health’s Occupational Health and Safety (OH&S) Management System strives to establish and maintain an effective framework that is based on a risk assessment model, empirical data, legislative requirements and industry best practice standards. Essential to the health and safety of our employees is the understanding that everyone has a role and responsibility based on the internal responsibility system (i.e. responsibility for your own health and safety and that of others at or near the workplace).

Regional Health Authorities Act

PRIME Employer Incentive Program

Prevention + Return-to-work + Insurance Management for Employers/Employees (PRIME) is an initiative program that falls under the Workplace Health, Safety and Compensation Commission (WHSCC) where organizations are audited once a year. These audits will give the organization a score and result in a financial refund. The program recognizes the company for its occupational health and safety (OH&S) and return to work practices through a 5% refund on their average calculated base assessments.

Eastern Health uses PRIME as another way to make sure that our employees are taken care of in an effective and regulated way.

Canadian Patient Safety Institute (CPSI) 

Collective Agreements


Safer Health Care Now!
Eastern Health believes strongly in our vision, Healthy People, Healthy Communities, and has elected to take part in initiatives that aim to reduce and ultimately eliminate adverse events in our heath care facilities. Safer Healthcare Now! (SHN) is a national grassroots initiative aimed at implementing interventions known to reduce avoidable harm, such as infections and medication-related discrepancies.
It is made up of individuals and teams from health care facilities across Canada, including Eastern Health. Through collaboration and information sharing, the goal is to improve health care delivery by focusing on patients and their safety while in the care of health providers.


National Quality Institute

The National Quality Institute’s Progressive Excellence Program helps organizations to see how they are progressing toward the Canada Awards for Excellence – Canada's highest, most prestigious recognition for outstanding work on quality and/or healthy workplace factors.

At each level there is an evaluation. If the organization has passed the qualifications for that level, they can then move on to the next level until they can apply for the Canada Awards for Excellence.

LEVEL 1 | Foundation
Level 1 focuses on your organization’s approach to excellence. You demonstrate a commitment to continuous improvement and are implementing a long-term strategy.

LEVEL 2 | Transformation
Level 2 builds on the foundation of commitment. You show a wide understanding of your approach to excellence and can demonstrate improvement and good results in several key areas.

LEVEL 3 | Role Model
At Level 3, your organization demonstrates wide implementation of its strategic focus on excellence through understanding and applying NQI criteria, with positive results achieved in all key areas.

LEVEL 4 | World Class
Level 4 builds on the other levels. Your organization can demonstrate that it has achieved good to excellent overall results and trends from improvement efforts.


Updated Dec 14, 2011